About IAPT

“Competition is always a good thing. It forces us to do our best. A monopoly renders people complacent and satisfied with mediocrity.”

The Olympiad program in India is overseen by the National Steering Committee (NSC) constituted by the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) with representatives from the ministry of HRD, DST, ISRO and other organisations with the nodal center at the Homi Bhaba Center for Science Education (HBCSE), Mumbai. In 2005, the NSC authorised the Indian Association of Physics Teachers (IAPT) to train and organise an Indian Team for participation at the Asian Physics Olympiad (APhO).The IAPT, a voluntary organization of Physics teachers was established in the year 1984 by the great visionary, (Late) Dr. D. P. Khandelwal, with active support from some Physics teachers, with the aim of upgrading the quality of Physics teaching and Physics teachers at all levels. 

It is a registered body with about 8000 life members spread all over in about 1500 organizations throughout the country including about 100 members from abroad. The IAPT, a democratic organization consists of a Central Executive and 22 Regional Councils. Apart from APhO, IAPT organizes programs for students and teachers. Details of the activities can be found at indapt.org. The IAPT had gladly accepted the responsibility and has been organizing the training and participation of an Indian Team at the APhO, through its IAPT-APhO cell. 2022 is the centenary year of the founder member, Prof. D.P.Khandelwal. APhO-2022 is dedicated to this visionary