The Asian Physics Olympiad  is an annual Physics competition for high school students from Asia and Oceania regions. It is one of the International Science Olympiads. The first APhO was hosted by Indonesia in 2000. The next Asian Physics Olympiad (2022) will be held in India. APhO has its origins in the International Physics Olympiad and is conducted according to similar statutes (One five-hour theory examination and one or two laboratory examinations). It is usually held about two months before the IPhO and can also be seen as additional training for the teams.

Each national delegation is made up of eight competitors (unlike five in the IPhO) plus two leaders. Observers may also accompany a national team. The leaders are involved in the selection, preparation and translation of the exam tasks, and the translation and marking of examination papers. The students compete as individuals, and must sit through intensive theoretical and laboratory examinations. For their efforts the students are awarded medals (gold, silver or bronze) or an honorable mentions.

              Want to learn about APhO 2022